Weclome to the Youth Action Institute & C2EA’s Youth Caucus

First and foremost I would like to welcome each new participant to a coalition of organizations and individuals that want to stand up and fight for the rights of individuals infected and affected by HIV/AIDS. My name is George Montgomery Jr. and I one of the current National Co-chairs for C2EA’s Youth Caucus. I started my advocacy/outreach work in the HIV/AIDS field in 2008 with my participation at the Youth Action Institute held in Albuquerque, New Mexico. It was here I learned to break out of my shell and help make a difference to bring an end to this epidemic. After YAI 2008 I became one of the most active youth in Charlotte, NC. Joining the Youth Advisory Panel at Metrolina AIDS Project, Ryan White Part A Planning Council, Charlotte Area Task Force, D-Up, became the Chair for C2EA’s Mid-Atlantic Region, and the only youth on C2EA’s Executive Committee. And had it not been for YAI, I know I would never diverged myself in so many different areas.
Currently, I am a senior at Johnson & Wales University in Charlotte, NC working on my Bachelor’s degree in Business Management with a double concentration (Human Resources & Financial Management). I plan on continuing my education by earning a second bachelor degree in social work. Ultimately I would like to become a case manager for youth.
This year’s YAI will be one to remember. The planning committee and I have been working diligently to make the conference full of learning, community based activities, and of course FUN & EXCITEMENT!!! YAI may be a weeklong but I guarantee each of you will leave with skills that will lay the groundwork for some serious advocacy and activism in your community.
I would like to close by encouraging each of you to come to this conference with open minds, and the willingness to learn, and put in your full efforts for all of the community based events. We will provide you with the tools necessary to be successful in all you do; it will be up to you to take these tools and apply them to real life situations.

I look forward to meeting each of you in Cali!!!

~ by gmontgomery2021 on March 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “Weclome to the Youth Action Institute & C2EA’s Youth Caucus”

  1. I am really looking forward to YAI this year. I am ready to lean help the cause and have fun all at the same time. Double kisses and see you all in cali!!!!

  2. I am so pleased to see that all of our plans are coming together and June is almost here.

Leave a Reply

 
